Throw Away NOTHING


Recently, I read a submission guideline detailing a request for short nonfiction stories regarding an interesting and exciting experience at a previous or current workplace. I wondered what I could write with such little time before my work as a physical laborer *cough*mover*cough*, inbetween errands, or quality girlfriend time as well as reading and the writing I already set aside time for. I mean I had worked for a chocolate factory, a junkyard collection company, retail, and the list goes on! What could I possibly compact into a necessary read?

BUT then I remembered that I had a failed 30-page treatment for a novel somewhat spanning the five years time that I worked as a bus boy for a small upstart bar and grill in McAllen, TX. 

Six pages in and while it has many expletives and grungy behavior inspired by the people (and myself) working there, I think it may be a winner.

Moral is: Don’t throw away your useless old work. It could somehow, someday (four years later for this one) be of some use.

-T.D.

P.S. Now to condense these 30 pages below the 6,000 word limit. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

