Mom

I can never talk no good

So I wrote it all down

I know that you’re scared

I know that I’m a jerk

There is no better word
-I’m no saint

How could I compare to the one who mothered me

I’m sorry if I talked shit
But at least I said it to your face

I’m feeling a little bit out of place
-Do you remember the time that I first gave you a piggy back ride?

We fell on the ground

Laughing and laughing on our life long merry go round
-You’ve created a thoughtful and honest person indeed

At least that’s who I’m trying to be

I wish I was more like you

I wish you knew
–I’m trying to apologize

I’m never gonna give

Never ever never gonna give up

That’s not what you would do

Never give up

Whenever you feel stuck

Never give up
-You’ve done so damn much

My hero

I’ve yet to fly myself

I’ve still got my training wheels on

You’ve done so damn much

My hero
-Do you remember when those guys scared us on Halloween?

You put our fright right back in them

I was so safe

We were each other’s everything
-I don’t know who I am

Or even if I’ll like him 

But I love you 

I wish you knew 
–I’m trying to apologize

I’m never gonna give

Never ever never gonna give up

That’s not what my mom would do

Never give up

Whenever you feel stuck

Never give up
-You’re a saint

How can I compare?

I’m doing my best 

I’ll do even better this year

I promise
-Please remember 

I’ll call you every night that I think to

And if I don’t it’s only because I’m workin’ my ass off

Like my mother would do

Trying to start a life that’s right with pride for those in my heart

Like my mother would do
-I know who you are

At night you’re my stars

By day you’re the world made from clay

I know who you are
–I’m trying to apologize

I’m never gonna give

Never ever never gonna give up

That’s not what mom would do

Never give up

Whenever you feel stuck

Never give up
-I’m proud of you too 

Please know that I hate everyone

So that means an awful lot
-Don’t forget to call if you need anything 

Anything anything anything

If it’s in my power or not I’ll make sure it’s done
-I’ll never be gone

I’ll never be gone

Because you are my mom

And I am your oldest son
–I’m trying to apologize 

I’m never gonna give

Never ever never gonna give up

For that I thank you a ton

These chips on my shoulder are almost gone

Never give up

Whenever you feel stuck

Never give up
-I know that you’re scared

I know that I’m a jerk

There is no better word

Leave a Reply

