Poem: Each and Every

I can’t believe how much you make me want to destroy shit

Smashing my melodromatic fist through the panel of a cabinet

The scratches on my arm from the flimsy material – I hope they heal soon

Each day I look at it I am reminded of

Each morning I wake up I see the ceiling and when I turn I see your cheek across shining from the sunset

Each day I look at it I am reminded of

The temper tantrums – the theatrical habits of those used to fucking like rabbits

The cut inside my lip – I deserve

If I didn’t brush my teeth or eat too much candy maybe it is what I deserve

What of my words and the way you hear them

Each day I look at it I am reminded of

Each night after work we fight and argue and I wish that I could take it back

You tell me that I am so overly dramatic

I can’t believe how much I want to give you the world on a platter

Knowing that you would gladly say no 

Even with dessert forks and knives and those little spoons

I’m sorry that each day I say I’m sorry and that each night I’ve craved attention

Craving for anything is what I do; I’m not in touch with my feelings – I know it’s true 

Each dream is a dream of falling, however cliche – it’s true

But on the good nights, I dream of you

Each and every waking moment I daydream of you and I – how we used to be and how we will …

And that is why

I can’t believe how much you make me want to destroy shit

And that is why each morning I still go to work

And that is why each day I get out and drive home to kiss you

And that is why each night I don’t want to go to sleep angry

Because I’m a fool who only knows the ways of the fools before me and for that 

I am sorry

I really am sorry 

Leave a Reply

